Proud Supporters of Workers with Disabilities and Moms.

1010 West 5th Ave

Columbus, Ohio 43212



Our misson incorporates the dedication to man's best friend as a tool to incite social change within the community by providing premiere pet services, including daycare, boarding and a self-serve dog wash; as well as an employment platform that showcases the value of hiring people with intellectual and developmental disabilities. We will promote the hiring of moms to aid in the job development of our workers with disabilities. We value the natural caretaker skills moms offer and for that we will offer a variety of shifts and benefit options in return. Through uniting the three, pet, worker and mom, we can enhance the quality of life for them all.



Entrepreneur and Mom, Leanna Rocheleau, had a vision of starting Barks & Rec that began with a really good pun and a dream “to help them all”. Having worked in both Veterinary medicine and Employment programs for individuals with developmental disabilities, she believes in creating space that is inclusive to all. No two people or two dogs are alike and Leanna believes in capitalizing on the greatest of differences to make the home away from home a unique and personable experience for your pup. This platform also allows her to create an inclusivity by the employ of individuals with intellectual and developmental disabilities. It’s a proven fact that animals enhance lives and by adding all of these components Leanna Rocheleau invites you to come and check out the therapeutic environment Barks & Rec generates for employees and dogs alike.


Hi everyone! My name is Jess and I'm one of the team members at Barks and Rec! I'm a lifetime animal lover and dog mom, with a passion for BIG dogs. Currently our family includes Rory, a Great Dane, and Frank, a Saint Bernard/Lab mix. My husband and I also foster kittens through a local rescue. Let's just say it's always a fun filled, fur filled house! I can't wait to met you and your fur family.


Hello! My name is Josie and I am a part timer at Barks and Rec! I am 29 years young and forever a multitasker: Working a Real Estate job on the side and trying to start a Tiny Home Community. But that doesn’t stop me from helping to be apart of this amazing family and team! I am 3 years into not eating meat, because animals are my friends! I am an Animal Foster Mom to whoever needs me. I just moved back here to my home town, from San Diego and I am excited to meet some new Furry Friends and watch this family grow!


Hello to all precious babies and their owners! I’m Mason and I’m here to play fetch, give belly rubs and hug the anxious ones. I’m currently going to school to work in the chemical dependency/individuals with developmental disabilities field. I have a dog and two cats that keep me busy. I feel honored to spend my days making sure all of our clients have most pawsome day possible!